Flee (Writing as Black Angel)

Photo taken from the WEB

Photo taken from the WEB

 

FLEE

I am slipping
deeper and deeper
into this asylum
I call it my mind.

How do I escape?
Long enough to grab a smoke
and catch a fresh breath.
I promise to return once my time is up.

But the sun sets on my optimism
and the dusks of reality cascade over me.

I am slipping
deeper and deeper
into this windowless room
I call it my misery.

© 2014 by Charles Banks, Jr.
Writing as Black Angel
Excerpt from Burdens
Published by Spilt Ink Poetry.

Leave a Reply

