All I Possessed After the Fire (Writing as Curiosity)

Photo taken from the WEB
 
The illumination of the blazing fire created
an amber illusion of my sentiments.
Brave firefighters ran into my burning residence,
but it was too late for my possessions.
All had been lost in the amazing house fire,
set ablaze by the unforgiving flames.
 
But one keepsake found a safety net
amongst the mesmerizing inferno.
The surreal image of Sophia’s exit
was that one lasting possession¾
every other had been burned to ash.
 
How could she have turned her back to me,
and showed the backside of her sultry frame?
How could she have been so frigid
as to turn her remorseless cheek to me,
disregarding the extravagance of our history?
 
I was in possession of one hurtful memory,
kept away in a tiny, jagged heart-shaped locket
that hung from a dulled bronze chain on my neck.
 
And as the illumination of the blazing fire
inspired my recollection,
I gripped tightly my one lasting possession.
 
© 2012 by Charles Banks, Jr.
Writing as Curiosity
Excerpt from End of the Road.
Published by Lulu.com in Print and e-book.
 
Leave a Reply

