Tender Letter (writing as Curiosity)

Photo taken from the WEB

Photo taken from the WEB

 

Struggling to uncover the right words,
I tap my pen against the arm of my beige couch,
Out of anxiety.

I cross out misguided words and catchy phrases
That need not apply.
I build with aggravation.
I know the emotions are real,
But they do not want to surface.

I ball up pieces of fallen trees
And shoot bricks at the waste basket.

Like a volcano
I will soon erupt with rage.

I cannot hold my affection inside anymore.
I search with meandering eyes for inspiration.
I think happy thoughts…

Wedding bells
Wedding vowels
“I do!”

All of a sudden
The inspiration arrives
I write the perfect masterpiece.

I bless the paper with my blood
I fold it three ways.

I slide my sacred letter into the envelope
I seal it shut…
Only to be opened by that special someone.

Once the tender letter is read
My truest feelings
Will finally be revealed.

© 2013 by Charles Banks, Jr.

Writing as Curiosity

Excerpt from Concrete Promises

Published by Spilt Ink Poetry

2 thoughts on “Tender Letter (writing as Curiosity)

  1. “…Once the tender letter is read
    My truest feelings
    Will finally be revealed.”

    I imgine the look in her eyes once she’s read your inner most…

Leave a comment