Familiar Territory (by Black Angel)

 

 

FAMILIAR TERRITORY

 

 

I should have done this.

I should have done that.

 

Life is littered with a million and one laments

All competing for the grand prize,

Alpha dog in the sled race that is life.

 

I should have done this.

I should have done that.

 

Regret after regret commit suicide from a tower

A torrential downpour

A forever-deepening ocean.

 

I should have done this.

I should have done that.

 

They fall…

Bidding disingenuous salutations.

Masking ugly scars.

Prolonging intense chapters.

 

I should have done this.

I should have done that.

 

2012 by Charles Banks Jr.

Writing as BLACK ANGEL

Excerpt from the chapbook

Brain Weeds and Depressed Souls

One thought on “Familiar Territory (by Black Angel)

Leave a Reply

