Misery (By Black Angel)

MISERY

I am slipping deeper and deeper

Into this asylum.

I call it my mind.

How do I escape my own mind?

A five-minute reprieve…

Long enough to catch onto a fresh breath.

I promise to return once my time is up!

But the sun sets on my optimism

And the dusks of reality cascade over me.

I am slipping deeper and deeper

Into this windowless room.

I call it my misery.

2012 by Charles Banks, Jr.

Writing as BLACK ANGEL

Excerpt from the chapbook “Brain Weeds and Depressed Souls”

Leave a Reply

