Say Goodbye (Repost by Curiosity)

Photo taken from the WEB

SAY GOODBYE

I say goodbye to the emotional whippings

The beatings on the side of the tool shed

The slaps across the face at crowded A-list parties.

My term of indentured servitude has concluded.

Rip up the once lawfully binding contract

And throw its remnants into a paper shredder.

In turn, let us erase our memories,

Any recollection of our 4-year charade of a partnership.

Each kiss she planted a poison ivy seed.

Each kiss drained my hope.

Each kiss crippled me.

I wave goodbye to the whippings

The poignant monopoly on my broken spirit

The welts that line the spine of my back.

I am free to find another woman now

One with poison ivy lips to exterminate my core.

© 2012 by Charles Banks, Jr.

Writing as CURIOSITY

Excerpt from Page 15 of “End of the Road”

Published by Lulu.com and Caution Tape Poetry

© 2012 by Charles Banks, Jr.
Cover Art by Selena Howard

Leave a Reply

