Boy, I Wonder (Excerpt from The Flower That Wasn’t Meant To Blossom) By Curiosity

Photo Taken from the WEB

Boy, I Wonder…

I wonder how life would be if Martin hadn’t given his speech in front of 100,000 plus and led the March on Washington.

I wonder how life would be if James didn’t make it cool to say “I’m black and I’m proud!”

I wonder how life would be if Jackie didn’t step in and break the color barrier in professional sports.

I wonder how life would be if the European invasion on Africa never happened.

I wonder how life would be if Africa were still what it used to be. If it wasn’t stripped.

I wonder how life would be if my father hadn’t come to California. I wonder what would happen if he stayed home.

I wonder how life would be if Thurgood hadn’t become the first black Supreme Court Judge.

I wonder how life would be if Langston, Zora, Louis, and the Duke hadn’t been born.

I wonder how life would be if Afeni Shakur hadn’t been pregnant in prison. If Tupac Shakur hadn’t been born, hadn’t blessed the world with his unique words and predictions of the future.

I wonder how life would be if my mother hadn’t left. Would I be able to write this?

I wonder how life would be if the heroes of the past didn’t sacrifice their blood, sweat and tears for me and future black generations to come.

I Only Wonder…

© 2009 by Charles Banks, Jr.

Writing as CURIOSITY

Excerpt from “The Flower That Wasn’t Meant To Blossom”

Published by PublishAmerica, LLLP.

© 2009 by Charles Banks, Jr. Writing as CURIOSITY Excerpt from “The Flower That Wasn’t Meant To Blossom” Published by PublishAmerica, LLLP.

Leave a Reply

