Shadow in the Midnight

Shadow in the Midnight

 

© 2008 by Charles Banks, Jr. Writing as CURIOSITY AND BLACK ANGEL

 

Black I am and I am hiding

from the man with the black beater in his hand

and the shiny badge.

He is relentless in his pursuit

in finding and locking me up.

I hide in an alley with the stench-filled dumpster

that has been neglected like

the poverty.

I never pointed the finger of blame

but now I am forced to.

As I see the real truth

I have come to the realization that

life isn’t as simple as I see it.

It never will be, either.

One of the many sad realizations

we have to face in America.

I could never understand why

foreigners’ lust to come here.

Everything that’s advertised in books and magazines

aren’t really what they are.

People get singled out here, too.

People die for their freedom here, too.

People just like me

get overlooked by their government

for currency.

Why would you want to come here?

I love this great land.  Do not misinterpret my words.

But I am surely not free.

I once was considered three fifths of a person.

Why would people want to come here

where people like me have all the opportunity in the world

and throw it away?

 

© 2008 by Charles Banks, Jr.

Writing as BLACK ANGEL

Excerpted from Page 120 of A Rose in the Name of Love

Leave a Reply

