Closer

Closer

Can I get closer to you?

Smell the sweet scent of your hair and your seductive perfume?

Can I feel the warmth of your butterscotch skin against mine?

Can I inch closer to you,

close enough to feel each breath you take against my rugged face?

Can I be close enough where you can run

your peaceful fingertips softly against my face

and close enough to where the hairs on my arms stand and I get goose bumps?

Can I get close enough to where I can slowly

caress you and gently rest my lips alongside your neck?

Can I get close enough to look

into your hazel eyes and be blown away by your beauty?

Can I be close enough to whisper into your ear

“I love you, darling! For the rest of my life I am yours and you are mine?”

Can I get close enough to hear

the almost mute moans of passion,

as I run my fingers through your hair and beyond?

Can I get close enough to cuddle you

in the aftermath of lovemaking and

close enough to comfort you

through the darkest of nights and bad dreams?

Can I get close enough to believe in what we conceived together?

Can I get close enough to see the joy

in your eyes and the delightful smile that only belongs to you?

© 2009 By Charles Banks, Jr.

Writing as CURIOSITY

Excerpted from Page 20 of “The Flower That Wasn’t Meant To Blossom”

Published by PublishAmerica, LLLP

One thought on “Closer

Leave a Reply

