Say Goodbye (Break-Up Anthem)

SAY GOODBYE

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I say goodbye to the emotional whippings

the beatings on the side of the tool shed

the slaps across the face at crowded A-List parties.

 

My term of indentured servitude has concluded.

Rip up the once lawfully binding contract

and throw its contents in a paper shredder.

In turn, let us erase our memories,

any recollection of our 4-year travesty of a partnership.

 

Each kiss she planted a poison ivy seed.

Each kiss drained my hope.

Each kiss crippled me.

 

I wave goodbye to the whippings

the poignant monopoly on my broken spirit

the welts that lined the small of my back.

 

I am free to find another woman now,

one with poison ivy lips to exterminate my core.

 

 

© 2011 by Charles Banks, Jr.

Written as CURIOSITY

One thought on “Say Goodbye (Break-Up Anthem)

Leave a Reply

