I Think I’ll Stay Inside Tonight

I THINK I’LL STAY INSIDE TONIGHT

And listen to the late-night news,

let the tale of tsunamis lull me into a nightmare.

I think I’ll stay inside tonight

and snack on last night’s pizza,

stack up on some unflattering calories.

I think I’ll stay inside tonight

and write in my dusty journal—

haven’t written anything since I started my Excedrin binge.

I think I’ll stay inside tonight

and run a marathon through a pack of Newport’s.

Maybe I’ll catch cancer like Mom and Dad.

I think I’ll stay inside tonight

and watch old home videos of the family,

remind myself that there were some good times.

I think I’ll stay inside tonight

and rummage through childhood photos,

try to make sense of who I’ve become in life.

I think I’ll stay inside tonight

and stargaze out my bedroom window.

I wonder why Sophia has deserted me.

I think I’ll stay inside tonight

and sleep in bed with my bottle of Vodka,

cuddle underneath the sheets with my new cheap lover.

© 2011 by Charles Banks, Jr.

Written as Black Angel

Excerpt from the upcoming chapbook “Open Window”

Leave a Reply

