A Gentleman’s Request

A GENTLEMAN’S REQUEST

 

From the deepest surfaces of my gratitude,

I beg you, oh generous Paul Bearers,

to please lower Mommie Dearest into the ground.

I beg of you, oh charitable Paul Bearers,

to put an end to my feverish torment.

 

Never mind being courteous of her feelings—

need I remind you that she’s dead?

And last time I checked, the dead can’t feel anything!

I beg of you, oh unsparing Paul Bearers,

to show the universal sign of disrespect.

 

From the deepest surfaces of my gratitude,

I beg you, oh bountiful Paul Bearers,

to aid me as I spit on her sullied memory.

I beg of you, oh genial Paul Bearers,

to put a screeching halt to my agony.

 

Never mind being generous to her memory.

Need I remind you that she’s dead?

And last time I checked, the dead can’t feel anything!

I beg of you, oh splendid Paul Bearers,

to show the universal sign of disrespect.

 

An eye for an eye, indeed!

 

© 2011 By Charles Banks, Jr.

Writing as BLACK ANGEL

Leave a Reply

